History of JASA

JASA derives from the Japanese Study Group of Strabismus and Amblyopia. The JASA was established in 1964 with approximately 280 charter members. The organization of the JASA was preceded by monthly or bimonthly informal meetings of ophthalmologists. Since 1986, the congress of JASA has been held once a year. We are going to have the 68th annual meeting of JASA in 2012.
To commemorate the 3 symposiasts of the first strabismus symposium organized in 1958 by the Japanese ophthalmology society, the Yuge, the Nakagawa and the Hiroishi awards for distinguished research papers were established in 1980 to honor the younger members of the JASA.