The 3rd ISA congress was held in Kyoto in conjunction with the 23rd ICO in 1978. There were over 500 participants, 170 from abroad and 330 from Japan.
Shinobu Awaya served from 1982-1990 as secretary/treasurer of the ISA and as president 1990-1994.
Yasuo Uemura and Yoshimasa Watanabe were elected to the administrative council of ISA.
Miho Sato (2006- present )and Tsuranu Yokoyama(2010 – ) are current administrative councils of ISA.
The 12th ISA congress was also held in Kyoto, in 2014 Dec 1-4. Local president was Miho Sato.